Ovensports

Baking & cooking with an enthusiastic amateur

Basic Banana Muffins

One lone banana muffin, cut in half to help it cool.

Bananas are so cheap at the grocery store that I often can’t resist the temptation, and buy a bunch. They’re healthy, easy, fresh fruit, so I’m always convinced I’ll eat them up quickly. And sometimes I do. As often as not though, they start to get very spotty before I remember I have them.

Luckily, spotted bananas are perfect for banana bread. Or, if you’re obsessed with cute, smaller snacks: banana muffins! While I have friends who love nothing more than a loaf of fresh-baked banana bread, I opted for muffins today, as they’re easier to share.

Assuming you have a few basic baking supplies and both eggs & milk on hand, making banana muffins is ridiculously cheap. This entire recipe cost me under $2 worth of supplies; if you’re looking for something inexpensive to bring to a gathering, this is definitely a winner!

Fresh-baked muffins. They’re not gorgeous, but they sure are yummy!

I call these “basic” not because they aren’t delicious, but because they’re a relatively simple recipe and they don’t require any fancy ingredients. Also, this opens the door for another, more complex banana bread recipe in the future!

The recipe itself is derived, with some changes, from the muffin recipe in my Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook.

The one downside to these muffins is that they are not particularly pretty. I love muffins, so I will eat them even if they look a bit sad, but if I were to make these again, I might make fewer muffins so that each can be a little bit bigger and develop a nice muffin-top.

OK, I guess this is more than one serving size… But they’re so good when they’re still warm!

Basic Banana Muffins
Adapted from Better Homes & Gardens
1 3/4 cups flour
1/3 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp ginger
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup cooking oil
2 bananas, peeled and mashed

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. Lightly grease a muffin pan.

Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg in a large bowl. Mix well and set aside.

In a separate bowl, beat the egg, then add milk and oil. Add all at once to the flour mixture, followed by the bananas. Stir well but do not over-mix; batter will be slightly lumpy.

Bake for eighteen to twenty minutes.

Cost per muffin: $0.17
Calories per muffin: 156

On Tweaking:

  • If you don’t have ginger or nutmeg on hand, feel free to omit them. You may want to use slightly more cinnamon instead.
  • Bananas turn black when frozen and turn to mush when you take them back out, but they still taste delicious in baked goods!
  • I use 1% milk in all my cooking, and the calorie count reflects that, but you can use whatever milk you keep on hand.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2012 by in Brunch, Desserts, Everything Vegetarian, Quick Breads & Muffins and tagged .
