Ovensports

Baking & cooking with an enthusiastic amateur

Adventures in Deep Frying

Murder by chocolate: Miniature Milky Way Midnight deep-fried in chocolate batter and dipped in chocolate.

I know I say this blog is about food that’s tasty, manageable, inexpensive, and healthy… But when you have a pot of perfectly good oil leftover from making veggie samosas, and you’ve always wanted to deep-fry a candy bar, there’s really only one thing to do: Buy a bag of miniature Midnight Milky Ways.

On hand, I already had a bag of regular marshmallows, some scary-looking marshmallow candies that cost twenty-five cents from a sale bin at the dollar store, and one mango. In preparation for deep-frying, I cut up the mango and put it in the freezer. The mini candy bars also went into the freezer, so as not to melt during frying (or so I planned).

We had four possibilities in mind for deep-frying, some of which turned out more successfully than others.

For dipping the treats, I made two batters, one plain and one with chocolate. I was enchanted by the idea of chocolate batter, but I wasn’t sure how it would turn out.

We tried the marshmallows first, at my roommate’s insistence. I had a bad feeling about it, but I couldn’t put my finger on precisely why. Any of you who have put a marshmallow in the microwave will know where this is going. The marshmallows expanded and leaked out of their batter coating within seconds. I removed them immediately, so as to minimize the amount of burnt marshmallow in the oil, but their shells were still yummy. In light of this, I opted not to try deep-frying the other marshmallow treat

Next were the candy bars. They were decent dipped in the plain batter, but in the chocolate batter, they were amazing. Despite being frozen beforehand, they turned gooey on the inside, but didn’t entirely liquify. They were extremely rich, but this didn’t stop me from covering them in whipped cream and chocolate sauce too.

Even I couldn’t finish this by myself. Good thing I had friends around to help!

Last but not least was the mango. The batter didn’t stick to them as well as I’d hoped, but they still worked out quite well. I put mine on top of vanilla ice cream, and then sprinkled on some sugar leftover from making candied ginger, and finished with some whipped cream.

The sugar from candied ginger added a hint of spice to this, which really rounded out the sundae.

While I did my deep-frying without a thermometer, it’s not something that’s exactly recommended. Make sure the oil is hot enough to sizzle when a drop of batter falls in, but don’t let it get hot enough to start getting smokey. An apron will help protect your clothes from wayward splattering, but there is always the danger of the oil spitting at you, especially when you first drop something in. Be careful and have a friend around, just in case. If you haven’t deep-fried before, please, please do more research before attempting these recipes! While I can give some advice, I am not a kitchen safety expert.

Finally, I am omitting calorie and cost counts for this, since these recipes are obscenely unhealthy, and the cost varies drastically depending on how much oil you’re using and other factors. However, all the ingredients for the batter are very inexpensive.

While the outside of these aren’t gorgeous, the inside does look delicious!

Murder by Chocolate
15 miniature Midnight Milky Ways, frozen
1/3 cup flour
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking powder
Pinch of salt
1/3 cup milk
Vegetable oil for frying

Heat three inches of vegetable oil in a deep saucepan. Combine flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt. Mix, then whisk in milk. Once oil is hot, remove Milky Ways from wrappers. Coat in batter, then cook until crispy (less than a minute).

Makes fifteen bites.

Chocolate in chocolate. They look a lot like doughnut holes like this.

Deep-Fried Mango
1 mango, peeled and cut into strips
1 cup flour
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup cold water
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
Vegetable oil for frying
Vanilla ice cream

Heat three inches of vegetable oil in a deep saucepan. Mix together flour, baking powder, and salt. Whisk in water and vanilla. Coat mango pieces in batter, then cook until crispy (less than a minute).

Place on paper towels to drain. Serve as desired while still warm.

You will have leftover batter if you only use one mango, like I did. Either use more mangoes to make more sundaes, cut the recipe in half, or dip & deep-fry some frozen candy bars with the extra.

Even without fancy toppings, ice cream and deep-fried mango make a winning combination.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2012 by in Desserts, Everything Vegetarian and tagged , , .
