Ovensports

Baking & cooking with an enthusiastic amateur

Easy Mango Lassi

Mango lassi is as easy to prepare as it is delicious.

I set out this morning with every intent of making mango turnovers. I had three fresh mangoes, a box of raisins, some crystallized ginger, and a pre-made pie crust in the freezer. Alas, I discovered midday that five months in our sub-par freezer was not kind to the pie crust, and removing it from the box revealed that it severely cracked and slightly discolored. So much for that!

Still craving some sort of dessert that incorporated these lovely mangoes, I tried to think of something else that would use ingredients I had on hand, rather than shelling out $3 or an hour of effort to make a new pie crust, neither of which I felt up for. It occurred to me that mango lassi had always sounded delicious, but I had yet to try one.

On foodnetwork.com, I found a delicious and ridiculously easy mango lassi recipe. A few of the reviews indicated that it didn’t taste exactly like ones they’d had in restaurants, but as usual, my priority was simple and delicious rather than authentic. With only a smidgen of tweaking, I was able to prepare the drink to my liking with no trouble at all. Chopping up the mango took some time, but since it all goes into a blender, there’s no need to worry about how the pieces look or whether they’re too big or too small!

Colorful bendy straws make everything better! When you don’t have fancy glasses or decor, they can add a dash of fun and color for a very low cost.

The price for this recipe looks fairly low, but this is only because I found mangoes on sale for $1 each, which rarely happens. At their off-season prices of $2-$3/mango, this recipe would quickly shift from deliciously affordable to questionably indulgent.

I served my mango lassi with lentil dal & rice and vegetable samosas, but next time I might save this beverage for a refreshing dessert. It also would make a great breakfast, especially if I cut up the mango the night before.

Mango lassi goes very well with other Indian-inspired dishes, providing a sweet contrast to savory items.

Easy Mango Lassi
Adapted from Ellie Krieger
2 ripe mangoes, peeled and roughly chopped, pit discarded
1 1/2 cups plain nonfat yogurt
2 teaspoons honey
Three-quarters of a tray of ice

Put everything into a blender. Blend until thoroughly mixed. If desired, serve with ice cubes and bendy straws.

Makes three servings.
Cost per serving: $1.05
Calories per serving: 163

On Tweaking:

  • Vanilla yogurt, or even a complimentary fruit-flavored yogurt (pineapple? strawberry?) would work as well, though it would give you a somewhat different flavor.
  • Adding more ice would stretch this out further, but also decrease its richness. I used a little less ice than the original recipe called for, as I personally find that smoothie-like drinks taste a little watery and bland to me if there’s too much ice.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2012 by in Beverages, Brunch, Desserts, Everything Vegetarian and tagged , .
