Ovensports

Baking & cooking with an enthusiastic amateur

Corn Cakes

Flecks of chive and frying until golden brown give some color to these cakes of white corn, mozzarella, and breadcrumbs.

The Cheesecake Factory is probably the epitome of a guilty pleasure restaurant for me. Without going into a terribly long list of all the things on their menu that make me salivate, it’s suffice to say that the Stuffed Chicken Tortillas are one of my favorite dishes. Of that dish, my absolute favorite part is invariably the grilled corn cakes.

A few months ago, after a trip to the Cheesecake Factory, I decided I could not wait until my next visit to have corn cakes again. Savory and a little bit sweet, the flavor was one I hoped to recreate at home. The recipe I settled upon, while not the closest to the Cheesecake Factory’s, was heavenly in its own right. My roommate and friends have requested these on multiple occasions since that first time I made them, so when I needed a side dish for pork with tomatillo sauce, these seemed the perfect choice!

While Giada’s recipe calls for grilling the corn cakes, I lack a grill. On my initial attempt, I tried to bake them, but they just stuck to the aluminum foil, even with nonstick spray. Since then, I’ve pan-fried them in a nonstick skillet with some olive oil, which turns out beautifully. They may fall apart a bit if the proportions are wrong, but even mangled, they will still taste good!

The color would be brighter if I had used yellow corn instead of white corn.

Corn Cakes
Adapted from Giada De Laurentiis
2 cups frozen corn, thawed
3/4 cup shredded mozzarella
1 cup Italian-seasoned breadcrumbs
1/3 cup chives, finely chopped
1 tablespoon sour cream
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
2 tablespoons olive oil

If necessary, drain the corn. Use a food processor to turn it into a chunky puree. Put in a bowl and add mozzarella, 1/2 cup breadcrumbs, chives, sour cream, salt, and pepper. Mix well. Form into ten small patties and dip both sides in the remaining breadcrumbs. Refrigerate in a single layer for at least half an hour.

Heat oil in a nonstick skillet to medium heat. Fry corn cakes for 3 to 4 minutes on each side. Serve while still warm.

Makes ten corn cakes.
Cost per serving: $0.36
Calories per serving: 122

On Tweaking:

  • I realized that frozen corn is cheaper at my grocery store than canned corn, but I have used canned, drained corn in this recipe in the past successfully.
  • No chives? Fresh herbs are delicious and bright, but they do go bad quickly and can be quite expensive. Luckily, these would still be excellent without the chives.
  • I used Italian-seasoned breadcrumbs because it’s what I usually have on hand, but the original recipe called for plain breadcrumbs.

For an easy dip or garnish, serve corn cakes with sour cream with a few extra chives sprinkled on top.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 2, 2012 by in Everything Vegetarian, Sides, Apps, & Snacks, Vegetarian Sides, Apps, & Snacks and tagged .
