Ovensports

Baking & cooking with an enthusiastic amateur

Rainy Day Cookies

Cookies with butterscotch chips, almonds, oats, and peanut butter are a great choice for a rainy day.

Rain, rain, go away. Well, eventually. Not right away, because I admit, I do like using my oven when extra warmth in the apartment is appreciated rather than sweltering! The weather will be much hotter soon, I’m sure, which will force me to cut down on my baking, so now’s the time to enjoy it while I can!

Slightly crispy on the bottom, but very good!

These cookies taste rich and oaty, with a complex flavor thanks to the peanut butter, almonds, oats, and, of course, butterscotch chips. I used a bit of applesauce and peanut butter to help them hold together while slightly reducing the amount of butter I would have otherwise used. Butter is delicious, but it is a lot of saturated fat!

The one trouble I had with these cookies was that they burned slightly and stuck to the cookie sheet a bit. I was able to get nearly all of them off in one piece, but they didn’t slide off as cleanly as other cookies do. However, my baking sheet is in sad shape, so I’m sure that played a role. Watching the cookies very carefully will help too; they very quickly go from just-done to slightly-too-crispy on the bottom!

One recipe makes about two baking sheets’ worth of cookies.

Rainy Day Cookies
1 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup (half a stick) of butter
1 tablespoon unsweetened applesauce
1 tablespoon peanut butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup unsalted sliced toasted almonds
1/2 cup butterscotch chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a medium-sized bowl, mix together the oats, flour, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon.

Beat together the butter, applesauce, peanut butter, and both types of sugar. Beat in the egg and vanilla. Mix in the oat mixture. Finally, mix in the almonds and chips.

Scoop small spoonfuls onto a baking sheet, spaced apart so they can expand a bit.

Makes twenty-four smallish cookies.
Cost per cookie: $0.12
Nutrition per cookie: 101 calories, 5g fat, 2g saturated fat, 13.5g carbs, 0.5g fiber, 1.5g protein.

On Tweaking:

  • I don’t use walnuts or pecans in my cooking because of my allergies, but you could swap them for almonds in this recipe.
  • As is often the case, you can switch out butterscotch chips for any tasty morsel of your choosing! Regular semisweet chocolate chips are always a winner.

Enjoy with or without milk!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2012 by in Cookies, Desserts, Everything Vegetarian.
