Ovensports

Baking & cooking with an enthusiastic amateur

Ginger & Coriander Veggies

Carrots, onions, red pepper, and spinach with slivers of fresh ginger.

This post has been sitting in my Google Drive for a few days now, as I’ve floundered trying to come up with a way to describe it and what to say about it. Making good food is part of the challenge, but the bigger challenge is making it appealing to others! I’m very lucky to have a photographer (thanks Runaround Productions!), but the writing is all up to me.

Today though, I was wading through my rss feed and I saw a quote that stood out to me from the lovely little blog Dara Dishes: “The best recipes are… 30% desperation, 20% an unswerving desire for a particular dish, and 50% whatever you have in the fridge.” Immediately, I thought of this dish; She perfectly summed up the power of creativity, hunger, and improvisation, which apply in roughly those proportions to this dish!

When I made this (and still true today, really), my fridge was well-stocked with produce, so I knew I should do something vegetable-based. I had no meat and very little cheese, and I wanted to avoid something too high in starches, solidifying veggies as the ideal choice for the bulk of my dinner.

Originally, I was desiring something like curry, but Ginger & Coriander Veggies ended up deviating far enough from my traditional notions of curry that I’m not quite sure what to classify it as! There’s not really a sauce – no yogurt, no cream, no tomato, not even broth and cornstarch. It’s cooked, so it can’t be a salad, and the texture seems to disqualify it from the stew category. Whatever it is, it’s full of flavor from vegetables enhanced with a few spices.

This is one of my rare recipes that’s vegan, soy-free, and gluten-free!

Ginger & Coriander Veggies
1/2 small or medium onion, chopped
2 carrots, chopped
1 red sweet pepper, chopped
1 tablespoon canola oil
1” cube of ginger, peeled and julienned
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup frozen spinach
1 tsp coriander
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
1/4 tsp turmeric
1/2 cup water

Pour the oil into a frying pan and warm over medium heat. Add the onion, carrots, and pepper, stirring often for 10 minutes. Add the ginger and saute for another three minutes. Slightly reduce the heat, and stir in the garlic; stir and cook for about 30 seconds.

Add the spinach, spices, and water; saute on medium-high heat for another 3 minutes. Most of the water should evaporate by the end. Serve warm over lentils or rice.

Makes two servings.
Cost per serving: $1.45
Nutrition per serving: 144 calories, 7g fat, 0.5g saturated fat, 18g carbohydrates, 3.5g fiber, 3g protein

We had our ginger & coriander veggies over lentils to provide some protein. Delish!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 5, 2012 by in Dinners, Everything Vegetarian, Meat-Free, Vegan Fare, Vegetarian Main Courses and tagged , .
