Ovensports

Baking & cooking with an enthusiastic amateur

Mango Chutney Muffins

These muffins are studded with raisins and small pieces of mango.

I love muffins. They’re just the right size for a snack or dessert, sweet but not overpoweringly so, bready enough to soothe my constant craving for carbs. I never get tired of them, but sometimes I do get an itch for something new. It’s only so long that I can go through the same rotation of banana, raspberry, blueberry, and chocolate chip.

But when I started along the threads of thought leading me to this recipe, muffins weren’t even on my mind. No, I was thinking about the new sweet curry powder I picked up this weekend. I was nearly out, and I tend to use it generously, so I bought a nice 4 ounce bag of it. I like the curry powder I’d been using from Trader Joe’s, but when I smelled the sweet curry powder at Penzey’s spices (they have special jars of every spice for one to smell before purchasing!), I was sold. It smells brighter and fresher, subtly sweet and fragrant. I just had to put it to good use, and soon!

Meanwhile, I still had mango chunks I have in the freezer, which I hadn’t been using as quickly as I had hoped. In contemplating those two ingredients, it hit me – why not make muffins with mango and curry powder? Mango chutney is sweet with some savory notes, and would be a perfect inspiration for muffins! I already had raisins and fresh ginger too, so no need to buy more ingredients either!

Subtle flavors of curry and mango throughout these delectable treats pull them all together.

These muffins are the perfect mix of unique and comforting. Just like mango chutney, each bite of muffin yields a different surprise: a raisin, a sliver of crystallized ginger, a piece of mango. My roommate was insistent when I first mentioned them that they would simply taste “weird”, but after hesitantly trying a bite, she admitted they are actually quite good, and ate a whole muffin herself!

These would be a perfect dessert for any meal – vegetarian, vegan, or omnivore – inspired by Indian flavors, or just as a fun snack!

With silicone baking cups, the muffins pop out easily!

Mango Chutney Muffins
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp curry powder
1/8 tsp salt
1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon non-dairy milk (I used unsweetened almond milk)
2 tablespoons applesauce
1 tablespoon canola oil
2 tablespoons pureed mango
1 tablespoon raisins, soaked for a few minutes
2 tablespoons diced mango
1/2 tsp minced crystallized ginger

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, mix together both types of flour, sugar, baking powder, curry powder, and salt. Form a slight well and set aside In a smaller bowl, mix together milk, applesauce, oil, and pureed mango. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir well; stir in the raisins, diced mango, and crystallized ginger. Do not overmix.

Pour into silicone muffin cups or a greased muffin tin. Bake for 18-20 minutes.

Makes six muffins.
Cost per muffin: $0.19
Nutrition per muffin: 109 calories, 2.5g fat, 0g sat fat, 19g carb, 1g fiber, 1.5g protein

On Tweaking:

  • Don’t have crystallized ginger? You can make it if you have fresh ginger at home, or substitute 1/4 tsp ground ginger.
  • If you don’t like raisins, just leave them out!
  • If you don’t have whole wheat pastry flour, substitute all-purpose flour (for a total of 3/4 cup).

What are you waiting for? Get some mango and make these! 🙂

3 comments on “Mango Chutney Muffins

  1. Susan
    July 11, 2012

    I have tried these and they are AMAZING and TOTALLY unique. This could be a hit or miss – I feel like I’ve rarely had sweet/savory muffin combos – but this recipe makes it a total hit. I’ve already had 3 🙂

    • Ovensports
      July 12, 2012

      I’m so glad that you liked them too! 🙂 I think I’ll be making them a third time to bring to the Boston Food Swap this weekend.

  2. Pingback: July Foodie Penpals | Olympia Food Swap

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2012 by in Desserts, Everything Vegetarian, Quick Breads & Muffins, Vegan Fare and tagged .
