Ovensports

Baking & cooking with an enthusiastic amateur

Pineapple Muffins

Pineapple Muffin Main

Pineapple muffins are a great change from berry-filled and banana muffins.

Last week, I decided it was a good idea to promise my friend that I would make her muffins before checking what I had on hand. I started to look in my cupboards soon before her arrival to discover that I lacked: Eggs, milk (dairy or nondairy), applesauce, bananas, any fresh fruit for that matter.

I hurried to the cupboard, and with a little digging, happily discovered that I did indeed have one type of fruit: Canned pineapple. While I was very tempted to use coconut milk for the liquid, as the can was sitting next to the pineapple in the cupboard, I opted for the simpler route. Using pineapple juice enhances the pineapple flavor, adds fewer calories, and makes good use of what’s already in the can of pineapple.

This muffin recipe is based on the banana muffin template I use, adjusted to be vegan without any use of banana or applesauce. This was my first time using flaxseed in a muffin, and it turned out splendidly. My friend thought the muffins were excellent, and that the flaxseed was a positive addition.

The ground flaxseed gives these muffins a speckled appearance.

The ground flaxseed gives these muffins a speckled appearance.

Pineapple Muffins

1 cup flour
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 teaspoons baking powder
1/8 tsp ginger
1/8 tsp salt
¼ tsp vanilla extract
1 tablespoon ground flaxseed mixed with 2 tablespoons water
1/2 cup pineapple juice
2 tablespoons cooking oil
½ cup crushed pineapple
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. Lightly grease a muffin pan or use paper or silicone liners.
Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and ginger in a large bowl. Mix well and set aside.
In a separate bowl, combine the flax mixture, pineapple juice, crushed pineapple and oil. Add all at once to the flour mixture and stir well. The batter will be slightly lumpy and flecked with flaxseed.

Bake for eighteen to twenty minutes.
Makes six muffins.
Per muffin: 157 calories, 26g carb, 5g fat, 0.5g saturated fat, 3g protein.

On Tweaking:

  • To make crushed pineapple, I threw some pineapple chunks into my small food processor and pulsed a few times. You can use canned or fresh pineapple for this, whatever you have on hand.
  • If you don’t care about cooking vegan you can substitute one egg (beaten) for the flaxseed mixture.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 29, 2013 by in Desserts, Everything Vegetarian, Quick Breads & Muffins, Vegan Fare and tagged .
