Ovensports

Baking & cooking with an enthusiastic amateur

Whole Wheat Maple Banana Muffins (Vegan)

Warm, delicious muffins.

Warm, delicious muffins.

I’ve made a fair share of banana muffins in my time, and these are the best I’ve ever made, hands down. The first time I made these (which was only a few days ago), I saved my recipe notes as simply “BEST MUFFINS” in my Google Drive.

This recipe came from searching for a banana muffin recipe that would use up some of the whole wheat pastry flour I had on hand. The recipe that I found wasn’t vegan, but I’ve done enough vegan baking to know how to adapt it without any trouble. It only called for cinnamon, but I like more variety so I added nutmeg and allspice as well. Finally, I reduced the amount of maple syrup – that stuff’s expensive!

The result was phenomenal. There’s a strong hint of maple, comforting layer of spice, and a fantastic moistness.

These muffins are so delightfully moist.

These muffins are so delightfully moist.

Whole Wheat Maple Banana Muffins (Vegan)

Adapted from Joy of Baking

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

¼ tsp cinnamon

⅛ tsp allspice

Pinch of nutmeg

3 large bananas or 4 small bananas, mashed (the riper the better)

¾ cup applesauce

1/4 cup real maple syrup

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk

1/4 cup canola oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease and flour a muffin tin.

Stir together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices in a large bowl. In a separate, smaller bowl, combine all the other ingredients. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir until thoroughly combined. Scoop into muffin tin and bake for 20-23 minutes.

Makes 12 muffins.

While I made these as muffins, you could easily increase the baking time to an hour and make a banana bread loaf.

While I made these as muffins, you could easily increase the baking time to an hour and make a banana bread loaf.

Cost per serving: $0.29

Nutrition per serving: 197 calories, 5g fat, 0.5g saturated fat, 37g carbs, 3.5g fiber, 2g protein

On Tweaking:

  • Other non-dairy milks can be substituted for almond milk
  • These muffins would be excellent with 3/4 chopped nuts in the batter

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 20, 2013 by in Desserts, Everything Vegetarian, Quick Breads & Muffins, Vegan Fare and tagged , , .

Navigation

